NYCFM Board of Trustees

Esteemed Leadership

The Trustees of the New York City Fire Museum lead the Museum’s governing process and oversee the Museum’s programming and collection activities in partnership with the professional staff and volunteers.

Ted Grant Jr., President
Ted is currently the Managing Partner of the international advisory firm Sagamore Global Advisors where he works with large corporate and non-for-profit institutions focused on improving senior executive effectiveness, organizational performance, innovation, and transformational change. Ted has served as Special Assistant/Chief of Staff to the President of the Rockefeller Foundation and as a Senior Vice President, Office of the CEO and Chairman of J. P. Morgan Chase. Throughout Ted’s career, he has served as a critical business partner to senior executives across the private and non-for profit sectors, advising them in improving the management and future potential of attractive business opportunities. Ted is currently President of the Board of Directors of the New York City Fire Museum; the Advisory Council of The Resolution Project, and the US Leaders Council for Cordaid, an international NGO organization based in The Netherlands. He has served on the Sustainability Accounting Standards Board's Advisory Council and Capital Campaign Steering Committee (SASB); as an Advisor for the Partnership for New York City; and as an Ambassador for Carnegie Hall.

Dorothy Marks, Vice President
Ms. Marks has served on the Board of the NYC Fire Museum and its predecessor, Friends of the NYC Fire Department Collection, since its inception. Dorothy has a legacy of helping found and support first responder organizations in New York City. She was a founding member of the Central Park Medical Unit and served on the Regional Emergency Medical Services Council of NYC. She also serves on the Board of the FDNY Honor Emergency Fund and holds the rank of Honorary Commissioner in recognition of her dedication and commitment to the FDNY.


Sabrina Drigout Stainburn, Secretary
Sabrina has spent her career working in the life safety/fire Sabrina has an extensive career at senior executive positions in companies including Honeywell, Tyco, ADT, and DGA Security before taking the reins at Sila Heating and Air Conditioning, Inc. Her management talent is an invaluable resource for the operation of the Museum. A big fan of the museum with a deep respect for the FDNY, she joined the Board of Trustees in 2015.


Paul Magda, Treasurer
During his tenure at Deutsche Bank, Mr. Magda spearheaded a relationship with the NYC Fire Museum when he organized a display in the building’s lobby of historic artifacts from the museum’s collection. Other displays followed and inspired Paul’s participation in the museum’s governance. He has actively promoted fire safety education and been recognized by appointment to the FDNY with the honorary rank of Battalion Chief.

James Vreeland, Volunteers Advocate

Retired FDNY Captain who served with Engine 222, Engine 33, Ladder 149, Engine 245, and Engine 7. He is a liaison between our retired firefighter docents – an integral part of the visitor experience at the Fire Museum – and the Board.

Laura Kavanagh                                                               

Fire Commissioner, City of New York 

Raymond Bermudez

Ray Bermudez is a Human Resources professional currently serving as Vice President of Human Resources at First Data, a financial services company with over 22,000 employees. When first joining First Data, Ray was the head of military and veteran’s affairs with the responsibility of fulfilling the company’s commitment to support and hire our country’s service men and women. His father is retired from the FDNY having served his career during the historic “war years” in the Bronx.

Jeanne D’Onofrio
Jeanne D’Onofrio is chief of staff for the president of Carnegie Corporation of New York and serves as a member of the executive team responsible for management, strategic planning, and oversight of the administration and programs. She has an MPA from Columbia University’s School of International and Public Affairs, and a BBA from Baruch College, City University of New York. D'Onofrio grew up in Warwick, Rhode Island in close-knit community of firefighter families and was truly inspired by their dedication and commitment to their work, especially when that meant putting their lives on the line in order to save others.


Judith Jamison
Former Director of the New York City Fire Museum, ardent supporter of FDNY and the Museum – especially the retired FDNY volunteers who lead the museum tours, teach fire safety and daily demonstrate all that is finest and most admirable in New York City's firefighters.


William B. Norden
Trustee of the Museum for more than 20 years; Director and VP of the Honorary Fire Officers Association (FDNY); Director of the Honor Emergency Fund (FDNY); Member and Past Director of Fire Bell Club of NY; Honorary Assistant Chief (FDNY); practicing attorney in NYC.

Patrick J. Mahaney, Jr.

Colonel Mahaney served in the US Army for thirty years until his retirement in 2017. He was a member of the Special Forces (Green Berets). He served as Director and Senior Military Fellow for the Chief of Staff of the Army’s Strategic Studies Group. His service includes deployments in Operations Just Cause, Desert Storm and seven times to Enduring Freedom. He commanded the U.S. Army’s Asymmetric Warfare Group, a tactical Special Forces battalion, and a Special Operations Task Force in Afghanistan. Colonel Mahaney is the son of an FDNY Captain and holds the honorary rank of Battalion Chief in FDNY.

Patrick D. Stahl

Mr. Stahl is the Executive Director of Technology for Disney-ABC in New York. There he is responsible for ensuring the production and transmission of all of WABC-TV’s broadcast media. In this role, one that he has held in several media companies, he is not only responsible for the technical aspects of the job, he oversees large staff of operators and engineers. Pat is a graduate of Rutgers University and Columbia Business School.

John Hodgens

Chief of Department, City of New York